Happy Blog-a-Christmas!

Hi, everybody!! I hope you are having a great week so far. Mine has been good, and it got even better today when I went to check the mail. I’ll tell you all about it, but first, here are some of my eats from today. For breakfast: oat bran– of course!

Oat Bran BrekkieThis was my typical bowl. In addition to the oat bran, I stirred in some maple syrup, banana, and Jay Robb’s vanilla whey protein powder. I topped it with strawberries and Dark Chocolate Dreams PB. The berries and PB are my favorite part of this bowl for sure! So good! Check out my boring, plain travel mug. It got upgraded today, and I’m so glad! Stay tuned for that…

I had my appointment at the dermatologist and was starving by the time I was done. Since there was a Subway nearby, I decided to go ahead and have lunch.

Eat Fresh... plus a cookie...I had the Subway Club on Honey Oat with spinach, onions, tomatoes, red peppers, olives and pickles topped with provolone, a little light mayo and some spicy mustard. I haven’t had Subway in awhile, and I enjoyed it. I especially enjoyed my little cookie splurge at the end! Lunch held me over pretty well, but I did have some peanut butter puffins around 3:00. Closer to time to head home, I had this:

Blueberry OikosI really do love the blueberry Oikos. See the berry swirl? I topped it with some Zoe’s granola, as usual, and it was such a satisfying snack! Once I got home, I had some of my Spiced Zucchini with Bulgur, along with two Trader Joe’s turkey meatballs, a spot of ketchup and a few Brussels sprouts. I love eating a couple of these meatballs when I’m in the mood for meatloaf. It usually does the trick!

Din DinI followed that up with another yogurt selection that I have wanted to try for awhile now: Rachel’s Blueberry Pomegranate! I’ve been having lots of fun in the yogurt aisle since switching from points to calories!

Rachel's YumminessI thought the flavor was really good, although I’m not sure it necessarily tasted like pomegranate. I definitely enjoyed the flavor, so I guess that makes it a winner! After that, I nibbled on some dark chocolate and had a bit of peanut butter and bread. I see a few chocolate chips in my future, but then I’ll be calling it a day. A really good day. A Blog-A-Christmas Day, in fact! I went to check the mail this evening and discovered a whole host of awesome things!

Score!The pretty pink shirt and mug were my prize for the BSI: strawberry contest. I was drinking out of an ugly, plain to go cup this morning, but I will no longer be sipping from an ugly mug. I love the pink travel mug and the shirt! I’m such a coffee lover, and I’m so amused with this cute logo! I’m going to Alaska in May, and now I’m looking forward to it even more! Here’s a close-up:

Pretty in PinkI LOVE it! So cute. Thanks, Laura! I also had two cookbooks that I ordered last week. I used the Amazon gift certificate I got from Christina for winning BSI: Cabbage as a downpayment on the cookbooks. I can’t wait to read them. I love Jamie Oliver’s show, and, well, Alice Waters… do I need to say more? Thanks, Christina

Cookbooks!You can also see some Country Bob’s goodness and No Pudge coupons that I won from the giveaway hosted by Lucky Taste Buds. I can’t wait to try the sauce out after seeing it used on so many blogs, and I always love a good brownie! Thanks, Lucky Taste Buds! I had one more little surprise package. My mom sent me the little Arkansas notepad, along with a pretty little kitchen towel, a little basket liner (she knows I can’t resist frilly little kitchen linens), and a couple of other fun things. I’m feeling very spoiled right now with all of my new stuff. Thanks, mom and thanks to everyone!!

I finished up in the gym about an hour ago, and I need to do a bit of tidying up before I go to bed so I’m going to sign off. I do want to mention Sarah’s giveaway at Tales of Expansion. You could win a product from Bob’s Red Mill. Oat bran, anyone? Check it out! I love Sarah’s blog. It’s always such fun to read!

Good night to you all, and have a very happy humpday!

8 Comments

Filed under cooking, diet, Fitness, Food, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story

8 responses to “Happy Blog-a-Christmas!

  1. SUCH great loot! Laura has great taste :)
    I love Alice Waters… I think every time I read something of hers, I get more food-spired

  2. Oh wow, super awesome!! I love Jamie Oliver!

  3. Wow, you really cashed in!!! So glad you put the Amazon card to use! I love getting boxes in the mail! :0)

    Also stopping by to tell you to swing on over to my blog when you have a chance. I made your cabbage nests, and thought you might wanna check out “my” version! They were GREAT!

  4. OH!! I am so glad you like them! I hemmed and hawed about what to get you and finally picked out the shirt and mug. I think I drove the lady NUTS while picking it out. By the way Mara is right :)
    I don’t think you are flying out of Whittier because it does not have any clearance for jets. It’s a tiny, TINY town connected to the highway system by a 5 mile tunnel through a mountain that is shared w/ trains and cars. Weird hunh? It is tucked in the mountains and was a secret seaport during WWII because it was thought the Japanese would never find it. I bet you will ride the train to Anchorage and fly out from there, which is only 45 miles from my house.

    • Laura-
      I finally got my flight details and you are right. I will be taking some sort of coach from Whittier to Anchorage and then flying out of Anchorage. What a cool story about Whittier! I can’t wait to see your state! It seems like you really enjoy living there. :-)

  5. what a great day! It’s amazing how getting mail can just make your day :) I love the new mug!

  6. What awesome treats. I can’t wait to see what you make from that Jamie Oliver cookbook, I hear there are some good basic recipes in it.

  7. ooooooh, i’m jealous, soooo much great loot. and thanks for the shout out :-) i love your blog, too (obviously)!

Leave a Reply

