Another Day in the Life…

BreakfastSince today was a “work from home” day, I decided to do another post to show you what a typical day’s menu looks like for me. This morning, I started off by making a little pot of espresso. I added the rich espresso to 1/2 cup of skim milk and 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze with a bit of sugar free chocolate Torani syrup. You may wonder why I mix almond milk and skim milk. Well, I love the almond milk, but it doesn’t count as a dairy serving for purposes of weight watchers. I hate to miss a perfect opportunity– a morning latte, to get in some “official” dairy so the mixture is my compromise. 

Big BowlAlong with my latte, I had a serving of Hodgson Mill Bulgur Wheat with Soy leftover from the batch I made to go with my curried cauliflower. I really love this stuff. It is nutty and yummy plus, a serving has 3 grams of fiber and 10 grams of protein. You get a lot of bang for 2 weight watcher points! I topped it with a little of the almond milk from my latte mug, some chopped up cinnamon almonds from TJ’s and a bit of honey. It was sooooo good! 

Siggi's Orange & GingerSince I was planning to kickbox at noon, that meant that my lunch would be late and also that I would be in for a challenging workout. Today’s class was definitely tough! I felt pretty energetic start to finish and noticed that my form is starting to improve, which made me happy. My kickboxing class is always the toughest, but most fun workout I have all week. I’m so glad I got brave enough to try it!

I decided I needed to have a filling snack around 11:00 to give me a little energy boost before class. At Whole Foods the other day, my curiosity was piqued by this Siggi’s Icelandic style skyr strained non-fat yogurt in Orange & Ginger. I bought it thinking that it would be a little treat, and it was exactly that. It has a texture very much like that of my beloved Fage Greek yogurt, and the flavorings were lovely. It is sweetened with agave nectar and was just sweet enough with my Fiber One cereal twigs. As a plus, this little container packs 16 grams of protein!! Most importantly– it was just tasty. I loved the little bits of ginger and the fresh taste of the orange. There was a pomegranate variety on the shelf beside this one, and I’m definitely going to have to try it next!
Lunch!For lunch, I had some of my leftover mushroom casserole along with a very tasty salad. The casserole doesn’t look nearly as yummy as it tastes. I’ve really been enjoying it in my lunches this week!

SaladMy salad was a mix of romaine, grape tomatoes, celery, carrots, goat cheese and pumpkin seeds topped with freshly ground pepper and my mustard and cherry vinegar mixture. Yum! I thought it was too pretty not to have its own close up.

Blueberry ShortcakeAre you a fellow vitamuffin eater? If yes, have you tried the golden corn vitatop? I order big boxes of vitamuffins and keep my freezer well stocked. I usually stick with the chocolate varieties of the vitatops (the peanut butter fudge ones are my fave), but I decided to try the golden corn vitatops when I placed my last order. I figured that this is soup and chili season, and, well, what goes better with soup and chili than cornbread?! As it turns out, these remind me more of the old school shortbread cake that my mom used to make when we would have strawberry shortcake than the cornbread I ate as a kid, which was not usually very sweet. Sure enough, when topped with berries and some fat free cool whip, it makes a great shortcake. I’m a big fan! When berries are back in season, I will have to order more of these along with my usual chocolate selections.

Sugar Snap SnackOne of my snacks this afternoon was the rest of my sugar snap peas from last night.

Cara CaraI also had a beautiful and sweet cara cara red naval orange. It looks like a grapefruit, but tastes like an orange. Tricky… and delish!

Cascadian Farms BarFor my last afternoon snack, I had a Cascadian Farm organic fiber right dark chocolate almond chewy granola bar. I bought these on a whim, along with the Siggi’s, at Whole Foods the other day, and I will be buying them again. I love Fiber One bars, but they do have a lot of strange ingredients in them. This was very similar, but its ingredients are a bit less mysterious. I don’t expect it to replace my Fiber One bar addiction, but I do expect to keep some of these around. I really like them a lot. In fact, I bought them on Sunday and there is only one left. 

DinnerFor dinner, I sauteed some shallot, garlic, mushrooms and spinach. I made enough to fill several omelets or to make several frittatas. I really do love leftovers! I put some of the spinach mixture in my little skillet, topped it with egg beaters, cottage cheese and reduced fat parmesan, and then popped it under the broiler. I had this along with a lovely sliced tomato topped with fresh pepper and a piece of Nature’s Own Double Fiber bread topped with Better ‘n Peanut Butter and sugar free raspberry preserves.
TJ's Fruit and Fiber CerealAfter dinner, I had a bowl of Trader Joe’s Fruit and Fiber cereal with a splash of almond milk. A bowl of cereal like this would not keep me full for very long, but it makes a good snack or bite of something sweet.

Chocolate HeartSpeaking of bites of sweetness, I finished the night off with a little bite of chocolate. I am usually immune to post holiday candy sales, but these Lake Champlain chocolates from Whole Foods looked too good to pass up. I’ve been eating one piece each night, and enjoying them completely! Tonight I ate the one with the tree. It had pieces of mint in it. Yum! 

After I finish this post, I’m planning to have a cup of vanilla honey chamomile tea and then head off to bed. Tomorrow morning is my weigh-in, and I’m not really sure what to expect. Regardless of how that turns out, I’ve eaten lots of good healthy food this week, and I’ve enjoyed making some new recipes. I hope that you are enjoying my little cooking adventures too!

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking Light, diet, Fitness, Food, Recipes, Uncategorized, Weight Loss, Weight Loss Success Story, Weight Watchers

6 responses to “Another Day in the Life…

  1. Sarah C.

    I love reading your blog. It inspires me to eat healthier and I am so thanks :) I just wish I had someone to cook all this good food that you suggest. The way you included the pictures of the food makes my mouth water. I just wish we had a Whole Foods store. Do you have any suggestions of websites that I can purchase some of the grocery items that you use?

  2. juliet24

    All of the food looks absolutely delicious! I’ve been looking for vitamuffins for so long but I simply can’t find them anywhere near here. :(

  3. Gorgeous eats!

    I love vitamuffin, I buy the mixes because they are cheaper and bake them myself!

  4. Beadie, I tried a box of the golden corn vitamuffin mix when I was home over the holidays with my family, but I haven’t tried the others. They were definitely good and it was nice that they were fresh from the oven. Do you freeze yours after you bake them, and does that work ok if you do? It takes me too long to eat a whole batch of muffins so some of mine always end up taking an arctic freezer vacation! Thanks for the good suggestion, as always!

    Juliet, thanks so much for stopping by! I’m sorry you haven’t been able to find vitamuffins!! I think they are becoming more widely available, since I’ve started seeing some at more of my grocery stores, but I know that, despite an e-mail from Vitalicious saying that they would be available at Kroger, my mom has yet to find them in her local store. I ordered some on-line and had them shipped to her as a gift once, and she’s been looking for the elusive vitamuffin ever since.

    I started ordering mine on-line because I don’t mind getting a bunch and putting them in the freezer, and I can’t find as many of the varieties I like at my stores that do carry them. They often have coupons available for shipping, and they do freeze well so buying in bulk is not a bad way to go.

    Sarah, I’m working on a page that will list a lot of the products I use on a regular basis. I, of course, know exactly where you are coming from. :-) My mom does a good job of telling me what she can and can’t find in our little town in Arkansas, and she has been able to find a remarkable number of things at her Super Wal-mart and Kroger stores. She even bought dried lentils at a Family Dollar Store the other day! I think part of it is knowing what to look for. I do feel spoiled that I can buy lots of fun products at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s, but most of what I eat is pretty basic. I’ll try to finish up that page this weekend, and I’ll also see if I can’t find an on-line site or two that I have used to order some hard to find products in the past. Stay tuned! Since I started this page, in part, to share recipes with my mom, it isn’t very helpful if she can’t find any of the ingredients!

  5. Kale

    I came across your blog by accident but had to comment on how yummy it all looks. Who doesn’t love Whole Foods? I love vitamuffin but have to say, not a fan of the chocolates. I’ve tried LCChocolates but find them overpriced, even when you shop at the factory. But nice work on all the rest. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Kale

  6. Kale-
    I’m glad you stopped by! Thanks for commenting!! :-)

Leave a Reply

